Group Publications:        

1. J. Zhang, P. J. Santos, P. A. Gabrys, S. Lee, C. Liu, R. J. Macfarlane

“Self-Assembling Nanocomposite Tectons”
JACS, 2016, 138, 16228-16231.


2. M. Wang, S. Seo, P. Gabrys, D. Fleischman, B. Lee, Y. Kim, H. Atwater, R. J. Macfarlane, C. A. Mirkin

“Epitaxy: Programmable Atom Equivalents Versus Atoms”
ACS Nano, 2017, 11, 180-185.


3. P. A. Gabrys, S. E. Seo, M.  X. Wang, E. Oh, R. J. Macfarlane, C. A. Mirkin

“Lattice Mismatch in Crystalline Nanoparticle Thin Films”

Nano Lett. 2018, 18, 579-585.


4. D. J. Lewis, P. A. Gabrys, R. J. Macfarlane

“DNA-Directed Non-Langmuir Deposition of Programmable Atom Equivalents”

Langmuir 2018, ASAP.


Key Representative Publications:        

1. R. J. Macfarlane, B. Lee, M. R. Jones, N. Harris, G. C. Schatz, C. A. Mirkin

“Nanoparticle Superlattice Engineering with DNA”
Science, 2011, 334, 204-208.
(Highlighted in Science, Nature Materials, C&E News)

DNA-NP Lattices 1

2. R. J. Macfarlane, M. R. Jones, B. Lee, E. Auyeung, C. A. Mirkin

“Topotactic Interconversion of Nanoparticle Superlattices”
Science, 2013, 341, 1222-1225.

Topotactic Interconversion of Nanoparticle Superlattices

3. R. J. Macfarlane , B. Lee, H. D. Hill, A. J. Senesi, S. Seifert, C. A. Mirkin

“Assembly and Organization Processes in DNA-Directed Crystallization”
PNAS, 2009, 106, 10493-10498.


4. M. R. Jones, R. J. Macfarlane, B. Lee, J. Zhang, K. L. Young, A. J. Senesi, C. A. Mirkin

“DNA-nanoparticle superlattices formed from anisotropic building blocks”
Nature Materials, 2010, 9, 913-917.


5. R. J. Macfarlane, M. R. Jones, A. J. Senesi, K. Y. Young, B. Lee, C. A. Mirkin

“Establishing the Design Rules for DNA-Programmable Nanoparticle Assembly”
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2010, 49, 4589-4592.

ToC Image

6. R. J. Macfarlane, B. Kim, B. Lee, C. M. Bates, S-F. Lee, R. A. Weitekamp, A. B. Chang, K. T. Delaney, H. Fredrickson, H. A. Atwater, R. H. Grubbs

“Improving Brush Polymer Infrared 1-D Photonic Crystals via Linear Polymer Additives”
JACS, 2014, 136, 17374-17347.


7. Y. Kim, R. J. Macfarlane, M. R. Jones, C. A. Mirkin

“Transmutable nanoparticles with reconfigurable surface ligands”
Science, 2016, 351, 579-582.

Additional Publications:

8. R. J. Macfarlane*, R. V. Thaner*, K. A. Brown, B. Lee, J. Zhang, S. T. Nguyen, C. A. Mirkin

“Importance of the DNA ‘Bond’ in Programmable Nanoparticle Crystallization”
PNAS, 2014, 111, 14995-15000.  *Equal Author Contribution

9. A. J. Senesi, D. J. Eichelsdoerfer, K. A. Brown, B. Lee, E. Auyeung, C. H. Choi, R. J. Macfarlane, K. L. Young, C. A. Mirkin

“Oligonucleotide Flexibility Dictates Crystal Quality in DNA-Programmable Nanoparticle Superlattices”
Advanced Materials, 2014, 26, 7235-7240.

10. S. Kewalramani, J. W. Zwannikken, R. J. Macfarlane, C-Y. Leung, M. Olvera de la Cruz, C. A. Mirkin, M. J. Bedzyk

“Counterion distribution surrounding spherical nucleic acid-Au nanoparticle conjugates probed by small angle X-ray scattering”
ACS Nano, 2013, 7, 11301-11309.

11. S. L. Hellstrom, Y. Kim, J. S. Fakonas, A. J. Senesi, R. J. Macfarlane, C. A. Mirkin, H. A. Atwater

“Epitaxial Growth of DNA-Assembled Nanoparticle Superlattices on Patterned Substrates”
Nano Letters, 2013, 13, 6084-6090.

12. Y. Kim, R. J. Macfarlane, C. A. Mirkin

“Dynamically Interchangeable Nanoparticle Superlattices Through the Use of Nucleic Acid-Based Allosteric Effectors”
JACS, 2013, 135, 10342–10345.

13. A. J. Senesi, D. J. Eichelsdoerfer, R. J. Macfarlane, M. R. Jones, E. Auyeung, B. Lee, C. A. Mirkin

“Stepwise evolution of DNA-programmable nanoparticle superlattices”
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2013, 52, 6624–6628.

14. R. J. Macfarlane, M. N. O’Brien, S.H. Petrosko, C. A. Mirkin

“Nucleic Acid-Modified Nanostructures as Programmable Atom Equivalents: Forging a New ‘Table of Elements’”
Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2013, 52, 5688-5698.

15. C. Zhang, R. J. Macfarlane, K. L. Young, C. H. Choi, L. Hao, E. Auyeung, G. Liu, Z. Zhou, C. A. Mirkin

“A General Approach to DNA-Programmable Atom Equivalents”
Nature Materials, 2013, 12, 741-746.
(Highlighted in Nature Materials)

16. E. Auyeung, R. J. Macfarlane, C. H. Choi, J. C. Cutler, M. R. Jones, C. A. Mirkin

“Transitioning DNA-Engineered Nanoparticle Superlattices from Solution to the Solid State”
Advanced Materials, 2012, 24, 5181-5186.

17. T. Li, R. Sknepnek, R. J. Macfarlane, C. A. Mirkin, M. Olvera de la Cruz

“Modeling the Crystallization of Spherical Nucleic Acid Nanoparticle Conjugates with Molecular Dynamics Simulations”
Nano Letters, 2012, 12, 2509-2514.

18. K. L. Young, M. R. Jones, J. Zhang, R. J. Macfarlane, R. Esquivel-Sirvent, R. J. Nap, J. Wu, G. C. Schatz, B. Lee, C. A. Mirkin

“Assembly of reconfigurable one-dimensional colloidal superlattices due to a synergy of fundamental nanoscale forces”
PNAS, 2012, 107, 2240-2245.

19. E. Auyeung, J. Cutler, R. J. Macfarlane, M. R. Jones, J. Wu, G. Liu, K. Zhang, K. D. Osberg, C. A. Mirkin

“Synthetically Programmable Nanoparticle Superlattices Using a Hollow Three-Dimensional Spacer Approach”
Nature Nanotechnology, 2011, 7, 24-28.

20. M. R. Jones, R. J. Macfarlane, A. E. Prigodich, P. Patel, C. A. Mirkin

“Nanoparticle Shape Anisotropy Dictates the Collective Behavior of Surface-Bound Ligands”
JACS, 2011, 133, 18865–18869.
(Highlighted in Nature)

21. M. R. Jones, K. D. Osberg, R. J. Macfarlane, M. Langille, C. A. Mirkin

“Templated Techniques for the Synthesis and Assembly of Plasmonic Nanostructures”
Chemical Reviews, 2011, 111, 3736–3827.

22. R. J. Macfarlane, C. A. Mirkin

“Colloidal Assembly via Shape Complementarity”
ChemPhysChem, 2010, 11, 3215-3217.

23. S. J. Hurst, H. D. Hill, R. J. Macfarlane, J. Wu, V. P. Dravid, C. A. Mirkin

“Synthetically Programmable DNA Binding Domains in Aggregates of DNA-Functionalized Gold Nanoparticles”
Small, 2009, 5, 2156-2161.

24. H. D. Hill*, R. J. Macfarlane*, A. J. Senesi, B. Lee, S. Y. Park, C. A. Mirkin

“Controlling the Lattice Parameters of Gold Nanoparticle FCC Crystals with Duplex DNA Linkers”
Nano Letters, 2008, 8, 2341-2344.  *Equal Author Contribution